Friday, January 17, 2014

// // Leave a Comment

Types of Multiple Sclerosis

Patients are most commonly diagnosed in the relapsing-remitting phase of multiple sclerosis.

However, there are 4 main types of multiple sclerosis, established depending on the way the disease affects the body.

1. Relapsing-remitting multiple sclerosis

This type of MS is characterized by relapse, as its name indicates. The relapse phase features attacks of symptoms that disappear. The remission phase follows, which is the period of recovery. Symptoms felt by patients diagnosed with this MS type can vary from one case to another. In some cases, symptoms are mild, but in others their intensity can be highly increased. The periods of time on which patients have no symptoms at all, remissions, can last for days or even for months. Most people develop the MS relapsing-remitting type. Actually, statistics indicate that in over 80 percent of all cases patients deal with this type of MS.

2. Secondary-progressive multiple sclerosis

Most commonly developed in people who experienced the relapsing-remitting type of MS, the secondary-progressive form of the disease is characterized by partial relapses and recoveries. However, now the damage produced by the disease becomes worse, progressing slowly. Attacks can become worse, too.

3. Primary-progressive multiple sclerosis

Primary-progressive multiple sclerosis starts from onset. Unlike the relapsing-remitting type, this form features no periods of remission. However, in most cases symptoms do not decrease in intensity, as the disease progresses slowly and steadily. Around 15 percent of patients have primary-progressive multiple sclerosis.

4. Progressive-relapsing multiple sclerosis

This is the rarest form of MS. It also is the hardest to deal with form of the disease, as patients experience both steadily worsening symptoms and increased attacks, which occurring during periods of remission, too. Less than 5% percent of all MS patients develop this form of the disease.

The 4 main types of multiple sclerosis feature symptoms of different intensity. In certain phases, the patient’s condition is worse, attacks being more severe, too. Multiple sclerosis produces numerous symptoms which actually vary in intensity. Only in rare cases the patient’s life is shortened. MS symptoms intensity, as well as the progression of the disease, can be reduced and stopped with the use of the right treatment.


Post a Comment